top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTom Atherton

'IDK (I Don't Know)' by E.B. The Younger - New Single Review

Hi guys, welcome back to the blog and welcome to a new post. Now, for music lovers there has been one positive to this lockdown scenario that we find ourselves in, it's given our favourite artists and bands the time to make new stuff. For loyal readers who have been reading my blog since it began, you will remember my first ever post on here. I wrote a detailed review of a solo album titled 'To Each His Own' written and performed by one of my all-time favourite artists EB The Younger (Eric Pulido). Current lead singer of the American folk-rock band Midlake which I am a huge fan of also. Since that post, I have been to see Eric at a house show he performed at in London last year, where he enjoyed a drink with us (us being about 20 people) and performed some songs. I've always been aware of the saying 'Never meet your heroes' but I met my hero and he was awesome, genuinely one of the nicest people you could hope to meet; even sent me a personal message for my 21st birthday, what a guy!


Anyway, enough with the sucking up haha, Eric released a brand new single on the 11th of June 2020 titled 'IDK (I Don't Know)' with all proceeds going to the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund. With the help of fellow musicians Dancey Jenkins, Joey McClellan, Edgar Lee, McKenzie Smith and Matt Pence a fantastic little bubbly tune has been created. EB is back with his classic folk style introducing many complex sounds and beat changes; and beautiful harmonies. The lads have excelled themselves, I will admit in my own opinion it's no 'Used to Be' or 'Don't Forget Me' but it definitely comes in next behind them two. But they have managed to once again create another catchy tune in line with the style that Midlake and EB have proudly presented over the years. The songs flow felt very unpredictable throughout, but still manages to remain clean and smart, that is the genius of EB The Younger. This style of writing is what I think sets him apart from the rest of the music I listen to on a daily basis, I don't listen to anyone else like him, not saying that there aren't people like him. The song's lyrics are so well written and sung equally as good, lyrics such as 'For score in several billion years ago, the sky was dark, then a bang appeared below' really shows off the vocal range that he has and writing ability (You may have to listen to the song to get what I mean). Of course, I am particularly biased when it comes to examining Eric's music because I think the blokes a musical god, so I invite you guys to scrutinize for yourselves as well.


Another great song to go with the rest of his wonderful catalogue of songs, once again produced by the record label Bella Union. Also, some awesome cover art to go with the single, created by illustrator/designer Matt Cliff. I will leave the links to both the record label and the artist below so you guys can check them out for yourself. Please go check out the song as it's a proper banger, whilst you're there make sure to listen to more of EBs stuff, I'm yet to hear something by him that I don't like. I hope you guys have enjoyed reading and please make sure to give this post a like and share it about if you can. Until next time, stay safe. Peace.


Check them out

Link to post where you can donate - https://www.instagram.com/p/CBQs9Gqn810/


18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page